top of page
  • Writer's pictureAng'ienda James.

Everything you need to know about The Entrepreneur Fashion Week.


Lucky were the people who attended the entrepreneur fashion week runway show. With models having their effortlessly done hair and fresh makeup shining in outstanding designs both local and international — the sort that made people watching not only think, That’s amazing, but also, I think I can take something from this! ( exactly what inspired me to start a RUNWAY COLUMN.)


Well though I was inspired by the event I'm not quite sure how the idea to start a runway column came up but all I know is that I felt the need to show all of you what we've got to offer in the fashion scene as a country. Its such an amazing thing having experienced and seeing all the hidden talent we've got hanging around. Its so sad watching people ship in clothes from abroad while we have better designs readily available locally (imagine saving that ka-extra 1000 bob you'd use on the shipping charges to buy something else.)

I bet with all the counterfeit designs sprouting up everywhere on the daily you'd feel Kenya has nothing to offer in fashion and that all Kenyan designers are a sham, we'll here be an event that changed my mind about all this.


THE ENTREPRENEUR FASHION WEEK, I rarely make it to fashion events but the experience I had was genuinely inspiring. This 3 day fashion event really changed my life. From the off, varieties of plastic mesh slip dresses and designs to the Ankara tops, tunic skirts, and T-shirt dresses. In other words, the designers really knew how to work the extraordinary while pretending to be casual about it.

It’s very rare to have all this creativity and magic come together. Just the mere sight of a red dress pant styled with a Chinese collar Ankara top gave me a sudden need for more I must admit the Chinese collar was one well timed, well judged addition to the African look.


The outstanding moments I had at the runway show were that the event not only got to offer the shattering designs but I also had the opportunity to interact and network with some really creative designers and brands including:

Walt Disney Collection from Kenya

Pishoni – Tanzania

Ash Mura – Kenya

Ligero – Tanzania

Starabu Designs – Kenya

Sotu Apparel – Nigeria

Shikha Jain – India

The Rack – Kenya

Daphine Fashions – Kenya

Penelope – Kenya

Adore – Kenya

Kamandora Designs – Kenya

WinR Designs – Kenya

Original Mothers Culture – Tanzania

Minestitched – South Africa

Bbres – Uganda

Ruth Collections – Kenya

Mega Eco-Fashions – Nigeria

Tudu Designs – Kenya

Vintara Collections – Kenya

Chuwa fashions – Tanzania

Polka fashions – Kenya


In case you missed out, this was one well planned creative runway event. We definitely need more of this in the industry, if it wasn't the organized setup then I bet the​ strong, graphic collections would have really moved you just like I was moved to start a RUNWAY column on my blog.

If there's one thing ENTREPRENEUR FASHION WEEK taught me was .... do not GIVE UP ON THE KENYAN FASHION SCENE !!


Thanks to the lovely ladies Jenny and Daisy who got to accompany me to the event I appreciate you and the dope side kick of a photographer I got, Nasibi, keep on delivering stunning content.

STAY SUITED!!


16 views0 comments
bottom of page